Travel Flat Iron Case

Over the weekend I finally got around to making this awesome flat iron case that I’ve been wanting to make for a long time. I saw a really cool pattern for one last year and pinned it to my Pinterest board, thinking I’d get get around to making it sometime. Every time I went on a trip, I would wish that I had a case like that because I was getting pretty tired of wrapping a towel around my flat iron after using it and packing it away. I’m always nervous about it being so hot and burning my clothes or melting something in my suitcase. Now I don’t have to worry about it any more.

090213_0002WI changed a couple of things from the original pattern. I used Velcro instead of adding ties for the closure because I didn’t want to have to mess with tying and untying it every time. I also didn’t add the pocket in the back for the plug because my flat iron has a rather chunky plug and it probably wouldn’t have fit in the pocket. So I only had to use 1/4 yard of fabric for the outside, the lining and the Insulbright batting. I also chose to use the silver Teflon fabric for the lining (the kind of fabric you use for ironing board covers) because I thought it would be better protection for the intense heat of my flat iron.

090213_0006WThe instructions were very easy to follow and I’m very happy with the way the case turned out. I could have done a little better job sewing on the bias tape, but I’ll know better for next time if I ever make another one. Now I don’t have to worry about my flat iron damaging anything else in my suitcase when I travel. I can’t wait to use this for an upcoming trip this week.

I hope you had a nice Labor Day weekend. Did you work on any projects that you’re proud of?

3 thoughts on “Travel Flat Iron Case

Leave a Reply

