Ch-ch-ch-changes

sad_computer

{Source}

I hate change. Especially when it’s forced upon me. When I’m ready for a change, I like to be the one to initiate it. On my terms. But I don’t like it when, out of the blue, things suddenly change on me without any warning. Like this whole Google Reader thing coming to an end forever starting July 1.

I know Google warned us in March, but now that the end date is looming ever closer, it’s more of a reality now. I’m so sad because Google Reader (GR) is perfect and I don’t want to say good bye. But I know that I must. So now I’m searching for a suitable blog reader alternative, even though I know none of them will come close.

After some research, I had it narrowed down to two choices:  Bloglovin’ and Feedly. I migrated all my blogs (447 of them!) to Bloglovin’ and immediately found that I hated the user interface. It’s nothing like GR and the features are way too simple and bare bones for my taste. All of my blogs are listed in alphabetical order on the right side and all the feeds are on the left side with the photos showing. I don’t like that all. I don’t have any control over anything and the interface is way too simple. I don’t know why a lot of the bloggers I’m following are raving over this reader. It seems to be geared for teenagers.

Then I migrated all my blogs over to Feedly. While this is no GR, I like this reader a lot better than Bloglovin’. The layout is kind of similar to GR and it has preferences that I can set up to make it look the way I want it. It does take some getting used to and I’m still figuring out my way around the desktop. I found this helpful article with tips on getting the most out of the Feedly desktop. One thing I don’t like is that my blogs are listed in alphabetical order instead of in order of favorites, but I’m hoping that’s something they’ll change in the future.

One scary thing about Feedly is that once you close out of it and try to get back into it later, it seems virtually impossible to reopen because it doesn’t have a login button on its home page anywhere. You’re supposed to be able to login through Google, but I couldn’t find it. I was panicking, until after some searching, I discovered that you have to go to this link: http://www.feedly.com/home. They should really tell you that after you sign up.

So I think I’ve found my GR replacement for now. It will never be the same as GR, but it will have to do. At least Feedly is visually appealing and I have some control over the layout. I’m still holding out hope that some other reader will come along that’s a virtual clone of GR so I won’t have to miss out on many of the features that I know and love from GR.

Have you switched to a new reader yet? If so, which one are you using and why?

6 thoughts on “Ch-ch-ch-changes

  1. I switched to Feedly. I also panicked about the login feature. I didn’t even check out Bloglovi. The website just didn’t appeal to me.

  2. I switched to Bloglovin, used it for about two days, hated it, and switched to Feedly. It is no Google Reader (sniff), but it is much better. I have a Feedly button right next to my URL, but I’ll be damned if I have any idea how I made it get there.

    • Hah! That’s funny! I think Firefox automatically puts the green button next to the URL window when it installs Feedly, because it did that on my Firefox, too. I bookmarked it in all of my different Internet browsers so that I can always find it now.

  3. Hmmm, I’m not liking Bloglovin either. What bugs me the most is that it displays all blogs INSIDE itself. So that if I click a link to be taken to a blog, I want to be taken to that blog, not something like “http://www.bloglovin.com/frame?post=1108617005&group=4276195&frame_type=b&blog=427=95link=aHR0cDovL2ZlZWRnb29nbGUuY29tL35yL0Jsrc2hvcC9-My92pCLWh3by8&frame=1&click=0&user=0″…maybe I’ll try Feedly. Do you know if it does that? Cute computer pic for this post btw!

    • Yeah, I don’t like that feature, either. I prefer to be taken to the blog, too, when I click on the feed link. I don’t think there is anything I like about Bloglovin’. I really don’t know why it’s so popular and why all the bloggers are flocking over to it.

Leave a Reply

