A Pen Pal Swap

Back in February, my pen pal Jennifer and I decided to do a doll quilt swap. I was excited about it, but also kind of nervous because she’s a fabulous quilter and I was afraid that her skill level was a little more advanced than mine.

I always wanted to join the Flickr Doll Quilt Swap but was always too busy. Plus, the last couple Flickr swaps I did, I felt like I put in a lot of effort but didn’t get much back for all the time I spent on my swap project. So I kind of got burned out on doing swaps for a while.

I was at a loss for what to make for Jennifer until I looked through her Flickr favorites and saw a pillow made from the paper-pieced popsicle pattern by Ayumi Takahashi of Pink Penguin. So that’s what I chose for her doll quilt. I thought it was perfect. It’s been on my to do list for a while so I’m really glad I got to make it. It was fun to make and easier than I thought it would be.

041313_0029AWThe doll quilt I made for Jennifer

I had intended to include a few extra goodies, as is customary with swaps, but I was sidelined with migraines the week that our swap was due. So I just mailed the doll quilt by itself. However, if I had known about all the goodies that Jennifer was sending me, I definitely would have made an extra effort to send her some extra things in her package.

042813_0012AWAll of the goodies that Jennifer sent me with my doll quilt

When I received my package from her, I was overwhelmed, to say the least. I opened the box and kept pulling out object after object. I gasped as I pulled out each item. You can ask my husband if you don’t believe me. And then I finally saw the doll quilt which was at the bottom of the box. I was so surprised. I couldn’t believe all the work she put into it. And her embroidery is perfect! It’s funny because the soda pop pattern she used has also been on my to-do list for a long time. I guess great minds think alike. Speaking of great minds, I think it’s funny that we both chose the exact same backing fabric for our doll quilts.

042813_0002AW042813_0004AW042813_0009AW

Jennifer even hand-embroidered the label on the back and sewed on a sleeve to hang the quilt. I wish I would have thought of that. That was so thoughtful. This was the best swap I’ve ever been a part of and totally makes up for all the not-so-good swaps I’ve been in. Jennifer, you’re the best swap partner ever! I’m definitely going to be sending some handmade goodies your way soon.

3 thoughts on “A Pen Pal Swap

Leave a Reply

