Solids Pyramid Baby Quilt

RidgeQuilt_0002AW

I wanted to share my latest quilt with you. I’m really excited about it and so pleased with how it turned out. It’s a pyramids baby quilt that I made for my husband’s great nephew Ridge, who was born in February. This kind of quilt is also known as an equilateral triangle quilt. It’s a simple design but there’s something so pleasing about it.

This quilt has been on my to-do list for years. I don’t know why I waited so long to try this wonderful pattern. I thought sewing the triangles together would be hard and making sure the points would match up would be tricky, but it really wasn’t difficult at all. In fact, it was one of the easiest quilts I’ve ever made. It went together quickly because I cut the triangles large. I cut 7.5″ triangles so they finished at 7″. This actually makes a nice throw-size quilt, too. It ended up being 44.5 x 56″.

RidgeQuilt_0006AW

I got the inspiration for the colors after seeing this quilt. It reminds me of old Amish quilts, which I really love. When I showed my quilt to a coworker, she was surprised because she said it didn’t look like any of the other modern stuff I normally make. Lately I’ve been drawn toward using solids. I’d like to use them more.

RidgeQuilt_0013AW

One thing I did differently with this quilt is that I machine-sewed the binding on. I normally sew the binding on the traditional way by sewing it on the front of the quilt by machine first, then folding it over the edge and then hand sew it to the back of the quilt. But since I was short on time and this was going to be a baby quilt that I figured was going to be washed repeatedly, I decided machine sewing the binding on all the way would be more durable over time.

RidgeQuilt_0010AW

I use this method of binding for all my potholders because it’s more durable for repeated washings, but I’ve never done it on a quilt because I think hand sewing looks more professional. For a baby quilt, I think it’s passable. A baby isn’t going to notice. I would never use this method for a quilt I was going to enter into a show, though.

If you’re curious about how I did it, I’ll explain. I machine-sewed the binding strip onto the quilt front as usual, flipped the binding over to the back, pressed it really well with an iron and used these awesome clips by Clover to hold the binding in place. Then I stitched in the ditch from the front of the quilt along the binding, catching the back of the binding as I sewed. It does take some practice to make it look nice.

I’m so in love with this quilt that I’m already planning my next pyramids quilt. I think I’ll make it a little larger, though, so it would make a nice twin-size quilt or a large throw for the couch. I can see many more of these in my future. Try one. I think you’ll like it.

3 thoughts on “Solids Pyramid Baby Quilt

  1. Pretty! I love solids too and triangles have definitely been catching my eye lately. Ok, another thing added to my to do list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

