MQG Sewing Day

sewingday_0002WOver the weekend, the Des Moines MQG had a sewing day in Ankeny. So I spent six hours sewing with sixteen or so other people. I didn’t get as much accomplished as I had hoped, but I did get a quilt basted and made progress on a zigzag quilt for my sister.

If you ever get a chance to go to a guild sewing day, I really encourage you to go. I got the chance to talk with guild members far more than I would at a guild meeting. And I was also able to walk around and see what everyone was working on. It was fun seeing all the different quilts and projects in different stages of progress. It even gave me some ideas.

sewingday_0005WJill’s cool paper pieced sewing machine

sewingday_0009WThe front and back of Eva Marie’s Heads in a Jar qullt

sewingday_0008Wsewingday_0006WMelissa’s Low Volume quilt

sewingday_0010WLeila’s Skill Builder Sampler quilt

sewingday_0012WEmily’s feathers tote bag in progress

I wish I could have spent more time sewing with my friends, but I’m grateful for the time I got to spend with them. Some lucky people got to spend the whole day there. I think that any day spent sewing is a day well spent. I love quilting. It’s such a fun hobby and quilters make the best of friends.

One thought on “MQG Sewing Day

  1. I totally agree! Quilters make the best of friends. I just went to a quilt retreat the weekend before last and I finished a quilt top and got to hang out with some very nice ladies, and it’s always inspiring to see what everybody else is making.
    I hope you’re feeling better!

Leave a Reply

