Baby Steps

The last couple of months I haven’t felt like doing anything but sleep and watch TV. I’ve been in hibernation mode. For me, that’s really out of character. I almost always have four or five projects going at the same time. I haven’t even been interested in sewing or quilting much lately. Have you ever felt like that?

I had 11 days off over Christmas and New Year’s Day, and I had all these big plans of finishing several quilts I had started. I only worked on one a little bit. I did watch a lot of movies and TV shows that I had recorded on our DVR and got it back up to 70%! We haven’t had that much space on our DVR in years. That was probably my biggest accomplishment during my time off. I know, pretty sad, huh?

I’m starting to wonder if I have a touch of seasonal affective disorder (SAD). Dave thinks I’m being a hypochondriac and I just need some sunlight. Maybe I need one of those SAD lights that simulate sunlight. I do think this cold, gray Iowa weather is really having a negative affect on me this winter and a trip to a sunny climate is in order. Do any of you have SAD or know someone with SAD? I think I need to find out more about it.

I’m slowly trying to get back into the swing of things now that the holidays are over. I have several quilts waiting for me, but I haven’t felt like working on them. So I finished a new name tag. I thought it was time. I was getting tired of my old name tag. I really like how my new one turned out. I do wish I had used a stabilizer on the back of it so that you can’t see the threads behind it. I’ll have to remember to do that next time.

OvalNametag1AWI hope your year is getting off to a good start.

6 thoughts on “Baby Steps

  1. Love your new nametag – I really need to get one made! and don’t dismiss your doldrums, it’s not being a hypochondriac, it’s a very real thing. We’ll chat. Take care of yourself…

  2. I just wanted to chime in. I live in Wisconsin so I’m used to the same weather as you 😉
    I’ve found that my Vitamin D level is severely low in the winter and taking massive supplements of it has helped my sluggishness and depressed state. My doctor first started 50,000 a day for a week! Now I’m on 50,000 once a month.

    Take it seriously; it may be a real issue but easy to fix. good luck!

    • Thanks for the info! I was thinking of seeing my doctor. Maybe it’s something as simple as a vitamin deficiency. My husband always tells me I probably don’t get enough vitamin D because I never spend any time outside and I never get any sunlight even in the summer.

  3. I’ve never been diagnosed, but I do wonder if I suffer from SAD. I get tired (for no reason) and down a lot more during the winter. I usually travel for work to warm locations in January and exposure to sunlight and higher temperatures perk me back up.
    Power through the barrier preventing you from your hobbies. At first it will seem like a chore, but the endorphins will kick in.

Leave a Reply

