Retreat Recap

Every time I go to a quilting retreat, I always bring way more projects than I can possibly finish. And this past weekend in Indianola, at the DMAQG retreat, was no different. I always think I’m going to run out of stuff to work on, but that never happens. I didn’t get as much finished as I thought I would, but I was happy to be almost done with two quilt tops that I’ve been wanting to finish for a while.

If you remember my Flicker 3×6 Sampler Quilt from the last retreat, I thought it was finished. But it was still too narrow to fit a twin-size bed. So I added another vertical row to it. Now the top is finished and I just need to get it quilted and bound. I’m also almost finished with my Single Girl quilt top. I just need to add a side piece to the left and right sides and get it quilted and bound.

My 3×6 Sampler quilt top

My Single Girl quilt top almost completed

I also started piecing squares for a simple squares patchwork quilt using lovely floral prints from Liberty of London’s new line of craft fabric called Bloomsbury Gardens. I was inspired to make this quilt after seeing Ashley’s wonderful quilt made from Liberty lawn cottons. Ever since I learned to quilt and discovered Liberty’s fantastic (and expensive) lawn cotton fabric, I’ve been wanting to buy some of that gorgeous fabric. But at $37 a yard, I knew I could never afford to make a quilt using this fabric. So, when they came out with their new, more affordable line of craft cotton this year, I jumped at the chance to buy some and make a quilt with them. It’s going to be a very loud and bright quilt with all the bold, vivid colors and busy patterns. I think it will be very eye-catching.

I have two other quilts that I was hoping to get started on, but those will have to wait until after Thanksgiving. It seems that there are always projects waiting to be worked on, but at least I have two that are soon to be crossed off my to-do list.

4 thoughts on “Retreat Recap

  1. The single girl quilt is so lovely, and I love your fabrics on your modern blocks sampler. I guess going to a quilt retreat is so much fun. Seems like you got so many projects going on!!! anything for the Holidays?
    As always I really like your projects. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

