AQS Show 2012

Last weekend I spent a couple of days at the American Quilter’s Society (AQS) show here in Des Moines. We’re lucky enough to be one of the host cities for the AQS show. The Des Moines Area Quilters Guild co-hosts this show with AQS, whose headquarters are in Paducah, Kentucky. I look forward to this show every year, because along with lots of vendors’ booths to shop, there are also lots of quilts to see.

There’s the national juried show with quilts that travel in it from state to state. And then there’s our Guild show that’s held in an adjoining room. This show is sponsored by our guild and all guild members can enter. This year I saw lots of familiar quilts made by people I know.

Tricia’s Asian Medallion Quilt

My friend Tricia won a second place ribbon for her Asian-style medallion quilt that our small quilting group Seams So Easy worked on in 2010. In case you don’t know what a medallion quilt is, it’s a quilt that one person starts by making a center block then passes on to another person to add on another row. Then it goes to another person to add on another row, and so on. We each completed our own medallion quilt, with each person adding a row on in secret. We didn’t get to see our finished quilts until the last person added the last row. They were a lot of fun. Anyway, I felt proud to see the ribbon on Tricia’s quilt because we all worked on the quilt. So it was like we all got the ribbon. Lisa did the quilting. Great job, Lisa! (If you’d like to see the rest of our medallion quilts, you can see them here.)

Emma’s Pineapple Quilt

Doris’ Midnight Serenade Quilt

Doris’ Modern Fortune Quilt

There were many other quilts I recognized, but I didn’t get shots of all of them. Sometimes I got so caught up in looking at the quilts, analyzing the design, color, piecing and quilting, that I forgot to take pictures of them.

I don’t know which I like doing more, looking at the quilts or shopping the vendors’ booths. But I’m so glad I don’t have to choose because I love to do both. I already can’t wait for next year!

3 thoughts on “AQS Show 2012

  1. I had fun looking at the Medallion quilts, they are all so pretty, the Details on Tricia’s Quilt are amazing. There are so many social things that can be experienced through the Art of quilting. Like medallion quilts, Lotto blocks, quilting retreats, quilt guilds… I am getting obsesed about quilting!!!. People in Des Moines are so lucky to have that event. I just got an application fro de AQS, i’m definitely signing in. Thanks for sharing the pictures!

    • I’m so glad you’re really getting into quilting. I wish you lived closer so we could quilt together. If you ever get a chance to go to an AQS show, you should go. You’d love it.

Leave a Reply

