Happy Birthday to Me

It’s my birthday today. I turned 42. Because it’s such an important day, I decided to give everyone in the country the day off today. You’re welcome. Please, no need to thank me. That’s just the kind of person I am. I’m kidding, of course. But I always like it when my birthday falls on Labor Day. It’s nice not having to work on my birthday.

Birthdays in our household are usually pretty low-key; especially the older we get. If anyone’s birthday around here garners any fanfare, it’s typically Dave’s. I usually try to make him a fancy homemade cake, from scratch of course (box cakes aren’t allowed in this house for birthdays). And I spend months finding the perfect gift to surprise him with. He’s so easy to shop for. My birthday, however, is a different story. I’m the hardest person to shop for. I’m super picky and I can be very critical, so Dave never knows what to get me. Most of the time, I just tell him what to get me and where exactly to get it. And he doesn’t cook, so I never get a homemade birthday cake.

But this year I told him not to get me anything. I said, instead of a cake, I just wanted a huge plate of Thai custard from our favorite Thai restaurant King and I. It’s one of our favorite desserts and every time we order it, I always wish we could order a bunch of it so we’d have leftovers to bring home. So that’s what I got for my birthday. And it was delicious. I know it looks weird, but trust me, it’s so yummy. If you love Thai food, you’ll have to order it sometime. It’s a custardy pudding on top of sweet sticky rice. It’s really rich and fattening and made with coconut milk. I’ll have to hit the gym extra hard this week, but it’s totally worth it.

I wanted to share with you something that I do every year on my birthday. Perhaps you’ve heard of the Goldberg family who has been taking a photo of each of their family members since 1976? Well, I was inspired to do the same thing and have been taking a photo of myself every year on my birthday since 2006. There were a couple years where I either forgot to take a photo or I forgot to save the photos to my computer. But I’m resolving to remember to do this every year until I die or get too old to remember (or lose interest). I think this would be a great family photo project if you have children. It would be interesting to see the slight changes over the years. There’s a guy named Jonathan Keller who has been taking a photo of himself every day for the last eight years! That’s way too much discipline for me. You can see the photos of me so far in my Flickr set here.

I hope you’re enjoying your Labor Day.

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Me

Leave a Reply

