Going to the Fair

Dave and I went to the Iowa State Fair on Saturday and it was a beautiful day. We finally got a break from the sweltering hot temperatures and the weather couldn’t have been more perfect. Usually fair time is synonymous with unbearably hot temperatures. This is just a given. While I love going to the fair, I don’t look forward to sweating the entire day. So this year was a very pleasant and welcome surprise. Another nice thing was that I won second place on my crosses pillow and honorable mention on my star pillow. It’s always a great feeling to win a ribbon on one of my fair entries.

We go the fair every year and usually go in the morning and stay for the whole day. We visit almost every building and see just about every exhibit. We really aim for the whole fair experience and try to get our money’s worth. This year, though, I think it was a little too much for us. We got there a little after 9:00 a.m. and left around 9:00 p.m. By mid-afternoon, we were starting to get tired and were ready for a nap. I think next year we might go in the evening and get the discounted admission rate. We decided we really don’t need to go to every building, like the main part of the Varied Industries Building, because the vendors don’t really change from year to year. Next year we’ll just visit our favorites and I think it will be more enjoyable for us.

Leave a Reply

