Please Vote for Me!

I entered Threads magazine’s Quilt Your Stash Contest last week and just discovered that I’m one of the finalists. Three of my pillows made it in. I’m so excited! I can’t believe it. I entered six projects, hoping that one of them would make it into the final round. I never expected three of them would make it in. The project with the most votes wins a brand new Juki sewing machine. If you like any of my pillows, I would really appreciate your vote. You can vote here. And you can see all of the original entries here. You have until 11:59 p.m. on June 13 to cast your vote. The names of the creators aren’t listed next to the entries, but you can scroll down past the voting section and click on the titles of each entry to find out more information about each entry and see who created it. I’m personally hoping my crosses pillow wins, but I’d be happy if any of them won.

Please vote for one of these three pillows if you like any of them.

In other news, I finally managed to finish a window valance for one of our kitchen windows. I had already finished cafe curtains for the window back in February, but I wanted to add a valance, too. It’s taken me this long to get them both done. I used a retro-style print by Michael Miller called Put a Lid on It. I thought it looked really fun and quirky. It reminds me of vintage Pyrex.

Look below to see what the curtains used to look like. I was tired of having just plain white curtains and wanted something more exciting and colorful. Plus, I wanted to try tab top curtains this time. The tabs really make it easier to slide the panels open and closed.

And last but not least, Dave rebuilt his shed! I know, it doesn’t sound like very exciting news, but it is to us. After our original shed was destroyed by a neighbor’s tree branch falling on it in April, Dave wasn’t too happy about having to put up another one. But he managed to find the exact same shed kit at Lowe’s, so it fit the old shed base perfectly. And he made some improvements to it this time around—raising the base higher for better airflow and making it more level—so he’s much happier with this one. Don’t you just love it when things work out perfectly?

6 thoughts on “Please Vote for Me!

  1. Congratulations on being a finalist three times over, Veronica! I am proud of you! I will vote today and hope you win!

  2. Congrats on your finalist places. I really like your curtains too, very cute!! Did you get them done on purpose for your quilting friends who will be visiting? I look forward to seeing them in person soon!

Leave a Reply

