Umbrella Prints Trimmings Competition 2012

Last year when I saw Nova’s entries for the Umbrella Prints Trimmings Competition, I wished that I had known about it sooner so that I could have entered it. She ended up winning the contest with her amazing submissions. I vowed then that I would enter the competition this year.

The contest requires purchasing one of their packages of fabric scraps, which they print themselves and sell. You don’t get to choose which fabrics you receive. It’s just kind of luck of the draw what you get. I got a package with aqua, yellow, navy and hot pink prints in it.

I had sketched a bunch of ideas of things I might make before I received the fabric, but I scrapped all of them once I received my fabric packet. The pieces were quite small; a little too small for most of the things I had planned on making. The colors also weren’t working for me. I couldn’t figure out a way to use all of them together and make them work. So I just used the pieces that I thought went together the best.

I made a fabric cuff and did some embroidery on it, too. I sewed the button loop using this great tutorial. I didn’t use elastic or ribbon for the loop because I didn’t want it to be too thick or bulky. It turned out just the way I envisioned it and it works great, too.

I started this project late (just this week) and today was the deadline to submit photos of our entries, so I only got this one thing made. But next year I intend to be on the ball and start earlier so I have a whole slew of projects to enter.

All the entries will be posted on the Umbrella Prints 2012 Competition Board on Pinterest from June 1st through June 7th. Visit the Pinterest Competition Board, check out all the entries, and repin your favorites. The person with the most repins during that time will be the People’s Choice Winner. There will also be another winner selected by a panel of judges. If you like my entry, I’d really appreciate your vote. I can’t wait to see all the other entries. I’m sure there will be a lot of amazing stuff.

Leave a Reply

