Crafts Show Season

One thing I look forward to in the spring besides the warmer weather is the start of crafts show season. It lasts from May to November and just about every city seems to have crafts shows, now that creating handmade items is widely popular. And Des Moines is no exception. The downtown area alone has three wonderful shows that I feel lucky to be a part of:  Market Day, Craft Saturday and Sunday Bazaar. If you haven’t been to any of them before, definitely check them out. There’s a lot of cool stuff to see.

Usually, by November, I’m sick of crafts show season. I love making stuff, don’t get me wrong. But by the time November rolls around, I need a breather. By then, I will have spent the last six months doing shows back to back; selling at each show and then feverishly creating more inventory to sell at the next one. Because I have a full-time job, I usually burn the midnight oil each night after I get home from my day job, trying to get ready for each show. So it’s nice to have that break between Thanksgiving and Easter, when I can concentrate on just making items for my Etsy shop. But I do miss the extra income that the shows bring in.

My booth at one of the Market Day shows last year

As hectic as my schedule is during crafts show season, doing the shows is kind of fun, and sometimes very profitable. What I love the most is when people buy my products at the shows and tell me how much they love them or how wonderful they are. That makes it all worthwhile. It’s like they totally get me. It’s also fun to walk around and see what all the other vendors are selling. There’s truly a wealth of creativity there.

I’m doing the Market Day show downtown this Saturday. I’ll be there with all of my inventory, along with many other vendors selling their wonderful handmade goods. I feel very fortunate to be a part of this show because not everyone who applies for it makes it in. This will be my third year being a Market Day vendor and I’m excited because I have a few new items and I can’t wait to see if they do well. It’s hard to predict what people will be interested in and it always seems to differ at each show.

Some new matryoshka pincushions I made for Market Day

This Saturday is also the start of the Downtown Farmers Market, so I’m hoping for a good crowd. The location of Market Day is strategically located in the Kirkwood Building, 400 Walnut Street, right near the Farmers Market. The weather is supposed to be nice and sunny, so stop by if you get a chance (from 9:00 – 2:00). I’d love to see you. It’s also a great opportunity to find Mom a one-of-a-kind Mother’s Day gift.

Leave a Reply

