Pillow Talk

Our Des Moines Modern Quilt Guild had a pillow swap and we exchanged our pillows with our partners last week at our monthly meeting. As one of the guild’s co-officers in charge of programs, I was the organizer of the pillow swap and I modeled it after the Flicker Pillow Talk swap which I have participated in once. It was so much fun that I wanted our guild to do a similar swap. Each of the 11 participants received a list of her partner’s likes and dislikes and had to make a pillow for her partner using those specifications. They were also guided by Flickr mosaics we all made to show exactly what kinds of designs and motifs we really liked.

My swap partner was Jill and she had a variety of ideas to choose from, but I decided on crosses for her pillow because I had been wanting to make this design for a while and it just called out to me to make it. Plus, it was a good way to use a lot of different fabrics that I thought she would like. She and I have similar tastes. I used Oh, Fransson!’s technique for piecing tiny squares. It made the process much more manageable.

I added a little hand quilting in some of the crosses and around the border because Jill mentioned that some hand quilting or embroidery would be nice on her pillow.

The member who made a pillow for me was Tricia, which took me completely by surprise because I had no clue that it was her. She’s even in my small quilting group and she brought all the fabrics she was considering using in her pillow to our last group meeting to get opinions on whether they went together. She was really trying to gauge my reaction to them. Pretty sneaky, Tricia! You got me good. I’m very happy with the pillow I received from her. Churn dash is one of my favorite blocks right now and I’m so glad she chose it for my pillow. The colors are great and the pillow will match my 3×6 Sampler Quilt.

I love doing crafty swaps; especially when I receive something I love. I enjoy the challenge of coming up with something that the other person will like, while challenging myself to try something I’ve never done before. It really forces me to go outside my comfort zone and sometimes use colors that I wouldn’t think of using myself. And I usually learn a new technique, too. It’s a win-win.

If you want to see the rest of the pillows from our swap, you can check them out here and here. I think everyone was happy with the pillows they received.

2 thoughts on “Pillow Talk

  1. Ha! I’m glad I surprised you and so glad that you like it. It was a very fun challenge-good job organizing it. I can’t wait to get started on the next one!

Leave a Reply

