Retreat Highlights

I spent this past weekend in Indianola, at our Des Moines Area Quilting Guild’s spring retreat. I always have a great time at the quilt retreats, and this time was no exception. However, the first day I was sidelined by a nasty migraine. So I didn’t get as much accomplished that day as I had hoped. But I made up for it the rest of the weekend by almost finishing my Flicker 3×6 Sampler Quilt top and making a lot of progress on my Single Girl quilt.

My 3×6 Sampler Quilt top just needs a border added.

I also got to spend some quality time with my small quilting group, Seams So Easy. Everyone made it except for Dawn, who had a work commitment. We really missed you, Dawn! Any time spent sewing with friends is always a good time. Retreat is a great opportunity to catch up on quilting projects we’ve been putting off for a while or just don’t have enough space to work on at home. It’s also a wonderful place to get a lot of stuff accomplished because we get to leave all our household chores and other distractions behind and just sew, sew, sew all weekend long.

Me and my small quilting group, Seams So Easy

I started my Single Girl quilt at last year’s spring retreat and I really wanted to get closer to finishing it this year so I wouldn’t have to bring it to another retreat to work on. I’m pretty proud of myself for getting all the blocks sewn together. I just have to join them into rows, add the borders, quilt it and bind it. Yeah, easier said than done, right? Especially since I’m planning on hand quilting it. I’m hoping to get it done in time to enter it into the Iowa State Fair this year. We’ll see if that really happens.

If you’ve never been to a quilting retreat before, I highly recommend it. You really get a lot done and you also get to experience fellowship with other quilters, young and old. It’s always fun to walk around the room and see what everyone else is working on. My group and I look forward to attending every spring and fall. I’m sure I’ll be back again this fall.

3 thoughts on “Retreat Highlights

  1. I had so much fun on retreat! I can’t wait for the next one. You get more and more of tht single girl quilt done t each retreat. I can’t wait to see it completed.

Leave a Reply

