Hello and a Recipe

Welcome, welcome! I’m so happy you stopped by. I seriously never, ever thought I’d have a blog. But over the past few years, I’ve met so many wonderfully creative people with similar interests online through blogs and Flickr swaps. I started feeling like I was missing out on being part of a huge community of like-minded people and I wanted to share in the camaraderie they all seemed to have with each other. So here I am.

As an avid blog reader (I’m following more than 400 blogs in my Google Reader!), I’ve benefited from so many wonderful blogs over the years by finding lots of great recipes, tutorials and crafting ideas. So to reciprocate, I’ve decided to share one of my favorite recipes with you for a wonderfully refreshing drink called Ginger Fizz. It’s like a homemade ginger ale or Italian soda. Once you try it, you’ll never go back to the bland bottled stuff. I also have a funny anecdote to share with you about this drink, which I’ll get to in a little bit.

If you love ginger and fizzy drinks, then I’m sure you’ll love this drink. It’s a very simple recipe and I like to make it a lot in the summer. I try not to drink a lot of pop (that’s what we call soft drinks in these parts) and I find this to be a great substitute. I can’t recall where I got the original recipe online. I remember doing a Google search for ginger ale recipes several years ago after drinking a fresh ginger ale at Big Bowl in Chicago. I actually think this version tastes better than Big Bowl’s. It may be from one recipe or I may have combined several different recipes until I got the result I wanted. If you know whose recipe this is, please let me know so that I can give proper credit for it.

And now here’s the funny story. Whenever I make this drink, I always store the ginger syrup in the same clear, round plastic container. Whenever my husband sees the container in the fridge, he gets excited, because he knows it’s for making this drink that he loves. Well, one time when he was home alone, he saw the container in the fridge and decided to mix up a glass of Ginger Fizz. Only it tasted kind of funny. It turns out that he mistook the leftover chicken broth I had put in the container for ginger syrup! Imagine his extreme disappointment when he took that sip of chicken broth. So now we both jokingly refer to this drink as Chicken Fizz. We still get a huge laugh out of this every time I make it. And now he knows to check food containers in the fridge to make sure they’re not something else.

I’ll just tell you right now that I’m very new to blogging and I’m learning everything as I go. So I’m sure I’ll make plenty of mistakes along the way and sometimes things may not look right. Please bear with me. I plan on posting at least once a week. But as you know, sometimes life gets in the way and that may not always be possible. I hope you’ll come back again soon. And please feel free to leave a comment. I’d love to hear from you.

Ginger Fizz

• 1 cup sugar
• 1 cup peeled & sliced ginger
• 2 cups water
• 1 liter bottle of chilled club soda
• lime wedges or slices

Place the sugar, ginger and water in a medium saucepan. Stir to combine the ingredients. Cook on medium heat until the water comes to a boil; then turn heat to low so the water just simmers. Simmer for 15 minutes with the lid on. Remove from heat and let the pan sit, covered, until the ginger syrup reaches room temperature.

Once cool, strain the syrup using a strainer or sieve. Discard the ginger and place the ginger syrup in an air-tight container. Store in the fridge for up to one week. (But it probably won’t last that long because you’ll drink it all up right away. It’s that good!)

When serving, use one part ginger syrup to three parts club soda. (I usually use 1/3 cup of the syrup and 1 cup of club soda.) Squeeze a wedge (or two) of lime into your glass (I like mine really limey!). Stir to mix everything and be sure to add plenty of ice cubes.

Makes about 4 to 5 glasses.

6 thoughts on “Hello and a Recipe

  1. Veronica, Welcome to your new blog! How exciting! I will try that recipe and laugh as I think about Dave drinking chicken broth!

  2. Good for you to dabble your toes in the blogosphere. Welcome! It’s really fun, but can be time-consuming. Your drink story is cute. Don’t we all have similar ones in our homes? They make for nice giggles. (By the way, the photo you must have posted is appearing as a question mark.)

  3. Ooops! Now the picture IS appearing! Maybe I saw the question mark because I wasn’t logged into WordPress. Gosh, this software program is very different from Blogger.

Leave a Reply

